Mistakes, obviously, show us what needs improving. Without mistakes, how would we know what we had to work on?” Peter McWilliams

I bought a scale last week.

I had thought that so long as I was maintaining my weight that I was fine. I told myself that I would get back to getting healthy again once I was settled and could deal with rebuilding a routine. But I told myself that so long as I was maintaining my weight previous weight loss I would be fine.

And then I bought a scale and found out that I’m not fine.

Of the 50 pounds that I lost years ago I’ve regained 25 in the very recent past and likely thensome as I’d lost some addition weight a few months back. How much I couldn’t tell you since at the time I didn’t have a scale. But now I have one and I know exactly where I am and it’s depressing.

I’d allowed myself to lapse, to let good habits fade out and let bad habits bloom. I let myself get lazy with my eating and with exercise and I expeced, somehow, that it would be OK because magically the weight wouldn’t come back. Obviously this is ridiculous fairy land logic but that’s what I’d convinced myself.

And then last week I bought a scale.

Not having one was a mistake. I’m glad that I’ve rectified that one mistake. Now to get cracking on the rest, like paying attention to this blog.

